Preserving the Harvest

You’ll soon learn that I love both baking and canning foods.  During the end of the summer months into fall my life gets super busy processing through our garden harvest, either blanching and freezing vegetables, making butters and jams/jellies, or preserving vegetables through pressure canning.  I feel so blessed to have the right tools to preserve food.  The more I’m able to put food away for the winter months the better.  It will save you both time and money, plus keep preservatives out of your kitchen as well.  And don’t get me wrong, we don’t have a massive garden and able to put away 100’s of jars; I use store bought items.  But if I can put away even 12 jars of pizza sauce, that’s 12 jars I won’t need to buy.

I recently processed through 25 pounds of roma tomatoes with my Victorio food mill.  I tell you what, I don’t know how I survived without that food mill.  I’m not getting paid to say this: the Victorio food mill will save you so much time going through 25 pounds of roma tomatoes!  And I didn’t beg and plead to my husband to let me buy that food mill just to process tomatoes.  I can run apples, potatoes, pumpkin, all kinds of berries, etc to get the puree and rid myself of the skins and seeds!  I can’t wait to try this food mill out on apples; so excited!

You may be wondering, what will I be doing with 25 pounds of roma tomatoes, and I mentioned it earlier: pizza sauce!  I made a test batch last week, purposely making it during the week so I could make pizza for dinner that night, and it turned out amazing!  Here is the link if you’re interested in trying it out: http://foyupdate.blogspot.com/2012/08/canning-pizza-sauce-and-tomato-sauce.html

In addition to 25 pounds of roma tomatoes, I will have my hands full processing through another 25 pounds of canner tomatoes (more tomatoes I know!) and I will be getting a bushel of Michigan peaches Friday which I am super excited about.  It means a whole lot more because I heard about these particular peaches from our neighbors down the road, sweetest most generous people.  They give us a lot of their produce and my husband and I particularly love chatting with them on nice cool evenings.

I must once again break away from my schedule this week and say how important it is to me to have neighbors near by to rely on and gain knowledge from; that kind of handed-down knowledge is priceless.  My grandparents-in-law are also great resources.  God has blessed us with great knowledgeable people. So if you have folks (I won’t say necessarily older people) around you with a little more knowledge than yourself, stop and take a listen.  I bet you’ll learn a think or two.  And I also bet you’ll keep coming back for more knowledge, and perhaps even friendship.  Because I did and never regret spending an hour or two of my time in the company of a friend; and gaining some knowledge I didn’t know before helps too.

 

Leave a Reply

